Pain is Universal but So is Hope | Black & White Gallery, NY | 2007

Series: “Pain is Universal but So is Hope”
Flex Print on Anodized Aluminium, Framed
2 sizes edition: 170 cm x 230 cm (70″ x 92″) & 102 cm x 127 cm (40″ x 50″)
Edition: 5 + 2 A/P | 2007

Black & White Gallery // Chelsea is very excited to present Pain Is Universal But So Is Hope by the Cuban artist Liset Castillo.

The exhibition, consisting of a new photographic series and a sculptural installation, documents the construction of a fictitious city, a utopian microcosm where particular aspects of different cultures converge and fuse in the universal experience of creation and destruction.

By focusing on the metaphoric use of materials, the belief in metamorphosis, and the relationship between action and its documentation, Castillo condenses the narrative into sculptural dimensions – using her signature sand – to extrapolate in space what she explores in time through sculptural articulation of historical landmarks separated by generations and geography but sharing a complex social narrative. The photographic series encapsulates eight sequences from a specific “state of change”, with each photograph documenting continual processes of decay, destruction and regeneration, all symbols of transformation. Each photograph also has a different background color – from white to the seven colors of the rainbow- bearing the insignia of that specific “state of change”.

As in her earlier photographic work, Castillo continues to infuse sand with metaphor in particular by creating sand sculptures and capturing them on film as symbols of the ephemeral nature of our existence. Castillo’s photographs are deceptive illusions. They exist as physiochemical, two-dimensional images reflecting a three dimensional “reality”. By laboriously constructing the photographed images, Castillo turns time back on itself; forcing viewers to first believe the illusion, then, as they understand its unrealistic nature, consider the nature and construction of truth and reality.

Press release / September 7 – October 13, 2007

Scroll to Top